Businesses are rapidly adopting file sync, sharing and mobility solutions as a new way to enable employees to access their files on all of their devices (online or offline) and more seamlessly collaborate without having to drag-and-drop files to special folders or file servers, or check them in and out of content management systems.
This trend has led many business users to adopt consumer-oriented tools but there are many drawbacks, including the lack of centralized policies to control sharing and lack of visibility for Admins to see what company files are being shared (and to whom). As the business scales, these tools can also create information silos as new users are added but don't have access to the information they need. And they put the business at risk if members leave a group but still have access to files.
Syncplicity Group Sharing and Permissions builds upon our existing business/enterprise-class security and compliance features to allow IT/Admins to centrally manage groups of users, make sure they have access to shared folders they need, and make sure they are removed from ones they do not. Here is a quick overview of the new capabilities:
Easy Group Sharing
- Users can easily share folders with centrally created group(s) and/or individuals
- Auto-fill makes selection quick and easy
- Granular permissions allow users to share folders with groups in read-only or read-write mode
- New group members gain access to all previously shared folders and can sync them anywhere on their computer
- Removed members lose access to shared folders
- Users don’t have to un-share folders when group members leave
- Syncplicity protects users from permanent deletions as folders are shared to larger groups because only a folder owner can permanently delete files
For IT professionals and Admins Syncplicity makes group management a breeze:
- Admins create and manage groups centrally
- New users can be added to groups and gain immediate access to all folders previously shared with the group
- Admins can see which folders have been shared with each group including who owns the folder and permission level
- Users who are removed from a group lose access to shared folders automatically
- Groups adhere to existing Syncplicity security and compliance policies
- Data retention policies (remote wipe of data) can be enforced for removed users
- Admins can share folders from on-premise file servers so members of the group get online, offline, and mobile access to those folders without having to map drives or configure a VPN
We are excited about how these new features make it easier for businesses to deploy organization-wide, secure file sync, sharing and mobility solutions while avoiding the pitfalls of consumer-based solutions or rigid content management solutions.
Syncplicity customers interested in participating in the beta program can register at https://syncplicity.wufoo.com/forms/m7x1s1/ for additional details.
The Syncplicity Team