External Sharing and Collaboration Made Easy with Syncplicity

External Sharing and Collaboration Made Easy with Syncplicity
External Sharing and Collaboration Made Easy with Syncplicity

No matter your role, whether you’re in sales or human resources, external sharing and collaboration is a component of your work. In some cases, the capability to share a document or collaborate with someone outside of your enterprise is a daily need. Some tools may only provide basic sharing capabilities, leaving end-users to figure out collaboration on their own. While your IT department is responsible for distributing these tools, some elements are overlooked like end-user experience, or the specific sharing and collaboration needs of your department.

Syncplicity helps close this gap by providing a single tool that end-users enjoy and IT can trust. For someone in sales or human resources, sharing can mean sending out a completed contract or offer letter. Syncplicity helps make this process easy while ensuring content is secure. With a few clicks, you can send your customer a “shared link.” To ensure this link is accessed by the correct person, Syncplicity authenticates by requiring recipients to log in with their email addresses.

External Sharing and Collaboration

To collaborate with your customers on Syncplicity, you can assign them free “Personal Edition” accounts. These accounts have the benefits of an enterprise account and you get unlimited free collaborator accounts. To ensure security, the administrator for your enterprise can set a default expiration of all shared links.

Unlike basic file sharing tools like OneDrive for Business, Syncplicity helps you track all the links you’ve shared inside of the Web Application. This means you can also disable those links, should you want to revoke access to content before the expiration date. In this same area, you’re able to see all the links that others have shared with you.

READ MORE: Connecting your files and business applications to drive digital transformation

Assigning Roles

In case you need to share several files or are working on a project that requires external partners to share content, you can collaborate with your team on a specific folder. Syncplicity allows you to add those team members as either “Editors” or “Readers,” depending on your needs. Just like with a shared link, collaborators are required to authenticate by logging in with a Syncplicity account.

Managing your collaborators’ access also means you can easily revoke access or switch someone to a “Reader” or “Editor.” By adding your external partner as an Editor, he has the ability to edit the content in your shared workspace.

Cascading Folder Structure

When collaborating, keep in mind you can add collaborators into relevant folders. Syncplicity’s cascading folder structure means you can keep your most sensitive content at the top-level folder, then add folders with less sensitive content for external collaboration and add your collaborators there.

Sharing, collaborating, and managing these actions can all be done in Syncplicity’s web, mobile, and desktop applications. This differs from an end-user perspective with basic tools like OneDrive that require users to refer back to their email every time they want to access the contend you’ve shared with them. This can slow down workflows or cause users to seek out tools not licensed by IT.

READ MORE: Reducing the impact of ransomware attacks and controlling Shadow IT

Speak to an expert to learn more about External Sharing and Collaboration Made Easy with Syncplicity.

LEAVE A REPLY

Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here